Posted on

Glasgow Comic Con

Last year I was on the Glasgow League of Writers (GLoW) table where we sold out of our first anthology in less than two days. At this year’s Glasgow Comic Con, I was all grown up. I was taking my comics Mind Palace, and releasing mine and Graeme Kennedy’s new book iHero at the event. This was a big weekend for me and I can say it went better than I ever expected.

I was sharing a table with the rest of OR Comics (Gary Chudleigh and Graeme Kennedy) with our table consisting of mine and Graeme’s new comic iHero, my comic The Mind Palace and Gary and Graeme’s complete Villainous saga (issues 1-3). When we arrived I was pleasantly surprised to see that there was a huge queue waiting outside to get into the event. before long we were all set up and ready to go.

photo-6photo-4

I am happy to say that iHero especially, but everything on our table was selling like hotcakes with the punters seeming to not be able to get enough of it. We were positioned upstairs. On the left of us was John Lees, Iain Laurie and Chris Connelly who were releasing their new titles And Then Emily was Gone, Bad Sun and John’s new issue of The Standard. To our right was Glasgow Comic Con veteran Curt Sibling.

photo-2photo-1photo-7

As the day went on, the heat got worse and worse. It felt like a true physical endurance but it was worth every minute with the adrenaline of selling keeping me through till the 6 o clock finish. After day one we had sold so many comics I could not believe it. I had way surpassed the one hundred total adding The Mind Palace and iHero together and Villainous was selling incredibly well. It was also great to see Cuttlefish, the cover artist for The Mind Palace, come up from Newcastle to see what was happening. It was fantastic to show him the finished product. Something that was brilliant was that I met one of my first fans on this day. She had bought The Mind Palace from Geek Retreat and brought her friend along to get her own copy of The Mind Palace. With this in mind my fan bought herself a copy of the new comic iHero too. I was so chuffed with this. Through the morning, Iain Laurie asked me to pass him a copy of iHero and before I knew it he had drawn us his version of Icon. It was great to get this and I am really thankful for it.

photo-2 photo-1photo-3

After a big sleep I felt better and ready to go for another day of selling on the Sunday. Thankfully they had put the air conditioning on and things felt far better as the day went on. Today was so gratifying with many people coming up to me and telling me they had read iHero over night and that it was a great book. I had others saying it was the comic of now. I was really glad for my OR partners in crime as many people had read issues 1 and 2 of Villainous and wanted to read part 3. This is when it all feels worthwhile: getting to know that people are really digging your book. By the time the afternoon kicked in, The Mind Palace completely SOLD OUT! I was over the moon with this. As I say it was a great feeling to sell out of GLoW 1 last year but this book was totally to do with me. It was my idea and all my writing. This was a phenomenal feeling. By the end of the day we had sold almost all of the iHero we had with us! To my knowledge everyone at the event sold well. I am so glad that we all did this and feel that it is a credit to the people of Glasgow.

photo-4photo-5

This was the best con I had been to as a seller, really pushing my new products that were totally written by me was a joy. Working alongside Gary Chudleigh and Graeme Kennedy has been a great experience and the tables around us kept us laughing all the way through the weekend. Finally a big thanks to the promoters for putting on such a good con!

photophoto-3

Leave a Reply

